The Early Years Foundation Stage has four guiding principles, which help shape practice in early years settings:

A unique Child: observing what a child is learning.
Positive Relationships: what adults could do.
Enabling Environment: what adults could provide.
Learning and Development: all areas of learning and development are equally as important and inter-connected.

The Early Years Foundation Stage has seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. The seven areas of learning and development consist of:

Three prime areas:
• Communication and Language
• Physical Development
• Personal, social and Emotional Development

Four specific areas:
• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the World
• Expressive Arts and Design

All children’s progress will be reviewed shortly after their second birthday. Parents will be provided with a short written summary identifying strengths and any areas of concern. The nursery suggests that these are shared with your child’s health visitor to ensure the appropriate support, care and guidance is provided to your family.

It is hoped that children will reach the Early Learning Goals by the end of their reception year. These guidelines are linked and delivered within a broad and balanced curriculum. We aim to organise our activities so that all children play and develop at their own pace and level.

From September 2021 the nursery have been using Tapestry. This is an online method of sharing your child’s activities and observations with you. All parents will have access to their own secure login where information can be shared.